Patriot Knowledge Online
Thank you for logging into Patriot Knowledge Online (PKO).

Home of the Citizen Soldier.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Patriot Knowledge Online
Thank you for logging into Patriot Knowledge Online (PKO).

Home of the Citizen Soldier.
Patriot Knowledge Online
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The process for an SBR

Go down

The process for an SBR Empty The process for an SBR

Post  Paladin Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:31 pm

I've gone through the process recently, and was surprised how simple it is to build a Short-Barrel Rifle (SBR). This is my first SBR, so I had to do some reading on a couple forums to make sure my paperwork made it through un-scathed. The ATF's had my paperwork for almost two months now, and I haven't had anything kicked back so far! But I am by no means an expert, so if any of you see anything incorrect or something that needs added, by all means, please do so!

The process I went through was as an "Individual". The ATF will let you apply as an Individual, or if you prefer, you can form an NFA Revocable Living Trust.

Individual- I submitted my paperwork as an "Individual" because I couldn't find a lawyer local to me that was knowledgeable of the NFA Trust. In fact, most of them seemed totally disinterested in helping me do a trust for a SBR M4. As an individual, when I die, my heir (my son) will have to apply for the NFA Tax Stamp to take possession of my SBR. Fortunately, he is aware of what he needs to do. I may end up doing a trust later on and putting the SBR on it to ease the transfer to my son. To begin the process you need a receiver that you will use to "manufacture" into a SBR. For me, I had a PWS AR lower that was collecting dust, so I used it. You'll have to request the paperwork from the ATF.